Trece Martires City

Income Classification: 4th Class
Congressional District: 7th District
No. of Barangays: 13
Land Area: 3,917 has.
Population (NSO, May 1, 2010): 104,559
Registered Voters (COMELEC, January 2016): 63,378

Mayor: Melandres G. De Sagun
Vice-Mayor: Alexander C. Lubigan
Denver P. Colorado
Jhon Kester Aldrin R. Anacan
Mark Albert L. Montehermoso
Romeo A. De Sagun
Rona A. Bago
Angelito M. Villanueva
Manolito S. Villanueva
Lamberto B. Lubigan
Venancio M. Gatdula
Carlito G. Aure
LNB President: Cornelio L. De Sagun
Address: City Hall, Trece Martires City
Click here to locate the Trece Martires City Hall
Phone: (046) 419-0353
Fax: (046) 419-0353

Trece Martires City is the seat of the Provincial Government of Cavite. It is considered as one of the fast growing local economy in Cavite with an average local revenue growth rate of 29% from 2012 to 2014. SM Department Store had just started its operation on May 13, 2016 and is expected to further accelerate local economic growth of the city. From 2014 to  present, the city is hosting seven(7) NHA Resettlement Projects with 19,000 housing units and relocatees coming from Informal Settlers of National Capital Region( NCR). With population growth rate of 9.64%, 2016 projected population is 181,625. 2016 projected number of Households is 41,217.

Historical Background

What is now known as Trece Martires City was used to be Quintana. This was the largest, most remote and one of the oldest barrios of Tanza, Cavite. The city was named in the honor of Thirteen (13) martyrs of Cavite, who were sentenced to death during the Spanish regime. Surnames of the thirteen martyrs also became the names of the thirteen(13) barangays of the city. Trece Martires City was created through the enactment of Republic Act 981 on May 24, 1954. Under the city charter, the Governor of Cavite will serve as Ex Officio City Mayor of the  city. Trece Martires City was inaugurated as Provincial Capital on January 1, 1956 on the same day Governor Delfin Montano was sworn into office as Cavite Provincial Governor and Trece Martires City Ex Officio City Mayor. On May 11, 1992 the first local election was held per Republic Act 7325, an Act that amend the city charter and providing for local elections of the Trece Martires City.

Geographic Location

Trece Martires City is located at the center of Cavite Province. It is bounded on the North by the Municipality of Tanza, by the Municipalities of Amadeo and Indang on the South, Municipality of Gen. Trias on the East and Municipalities of Tanza and Naic on the West. It is accessible by land transportation from Metro Manila and the other adjoining Cities and municipalities. It has a distance of 45 kilometers from Metro Manila, 25 kilometers from Cavite City, 23 kilometers from Tagaytay City, and 13 kilometers from the City of Dasmariñas.

Major Income Sources

Commercial and Service Centers, Industrial

Tourist Destinations
  • Thirteen Martyrs Monument
  • St. Jude Parish Church
  • Provincial Capitol
  • Amore Recreation & Leisure Park
  • Sherwood Hills Golf Club
  • Mina Tunnel, Crocodile Farm
  • Queens Joy Resort
  • Villa Lucila Resort
  • Villa Inocencio Mini Resort
  • Paliguang Bayan
Special Events / Festivals

  • City Foundation Day(May 24)
  • 13 Martyr’s Death Anniversary of the 13 Martyrs of Cavite(September 12)
  • Feast of St. Jude Thaddeus (October 28)

Data Source: DILG CaLaBaRZon LGUs